How to install Ubuntu server 18.04

Uros Randelovic
2 min readApr 16, 2019

--

Photo by Jordan Harrison on Unsplash

As a Linux newbie who got his hands on a server and wanted to spin up a home server I found myself going trough multiple resources before I figured out what needs to be done so as per usual putting it all together on Medium.

Hardware I have on hand is Dell PowerEdge R420

  1. Download Ubuntu server form https://www.ubuntu.com/download/server
  2. Burn ISO file you downloaded to USB and plug it into your server (Rufus is a good tool I like to use, also free)
  3. You will be prompted with several screens, language, keyboard and others (pretty straightforward)
  4. Now you are prompted to configure your interfaces (this is where I got confused and didn’t know what to do)
  5. First open command prompt on Windows computer and type ipconfig/all or on Mac computer ifconfig

Subnet: Your IP address/subnet in CIDR form if your IP is 192.168.1.1 and your subnet mask is 255.255.255.000 you will type in 192.168.1.0/24
(if you have something else I found this article very useful)

Address: Desired IP address you want this server to have eg. 192.168.1.200

Gateway: your IP address as displayed in cmd after you typed ipconfing /all 192.168.1.1

Name servers: Googles name servers separated by comma 8.8.8.8,8.8.4.4 (notice there is no space after comma, make sure it’s the same else it won’t work)

The rest of the installer is quite straightforward, if you want a video walk-trough please look at the following YouTube video I found very helpful.

--

--